Last Updated: Jan 8th, 2015 - 07:42:25

Hopewell police honor their finest, fallen comrades
By James Peacemaker, Jr., Managing Editor
May 20, 2013, 10:35


HOPEWELL — It was a year of losses and a year of successes for law enforcement officials, and on Thursday both were remembered.

The Hopewell Police Department hosted its Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the Beacon Theater. The department also took time to honor state law enforcement officials who were killed in the line of duty.

Among those remembered was Master Trooper Junius A. Walker, who was shot to death in Dinwiddie on March 7 as he stopped to help what he thought was a stranded motorist on Interstate 85. He is survived by his wife and two adult children. He was a police officer for 40 years and was only one month from retirement.

Also honored was Prince William Police Officer Chris Young, who died Dec. 31 while riding a motorcycle to respond to a crash. He is survived by his wife and three children; State Trooper Andrew David Fox, who died after being struck by a car while directing traffic just outside Kings Dominion during the State Fair. He is survived by his wife, sister and parents; and Charles City County Sheriff’s Deputy Michael Christopher Walizer, who was killed in a crash while responding to assist another officer in a traffic stop. The 36-year-old is survived by his wife and four children.

Thursday’s ceremony also honored Hopewell police officers and those who have assisted them throughout the past year.

Among the most prestigious awards was the Life Saving Award given to Officer Anthony Pulley.

On Dec 18, Pulley arrived on the scene of a single-vehicle crash before emergency medical crews. He jumped into the vehicle as it was lying on its rooftop.

“The vehicle was so mangled that Patrol Officer Pulley had to crawl from the side rear window to assist the victim who was having difficulty breathing,” said Police Chief John Keohane as he presented the award.

Pulley cut away the seatbelt and supported the victim’s neck and kept her airway open until rescue crews responded and were able to extract and medevac her.

Excellent Police Duty awards were given to officers who responded to an armed robbery on April 20 at the Community Food Mart. A civilian followed the suspect and he was quickly arrested. Keohane said the suspect was tied to several robberies throughout the region. Those honored included Jacquita Allen, Barry Bayes, Rose Camancho, John Irons, Derrick McGill, Frank McQuage, Cathie Mitchell, Song Pak, Donnie Reid, Megan Shelton, James Shutt, Christopher Smith and Robert Stamper.

Officer Tara Ingram received the award for her response to an assault on Jan. 30. A woman was holding a newborn as a 2-year-old cling to her leg when Ingram arrived on scene. The woman appeared to be going into shock and needed medical attention. Officer Ingram held the baby, consoled the children and got information from the victim as she was being treated by medical personnel. She also took photos that would serve as evidence in court.

Officer David Lyons received the award for his actions Oct. 15 for an incident involving gang activity. He was able to get information on gangs and that gang-initiation robberies were occurring. Two robbery cases were solved because of this.

A Certificate of Commendation was presented to Animal Control Officer Amanda Amaral for capturing a vicious pitbull Feb. 8 that had killed a neighborhood cat and “was terrorizing the city Point neighborhood,” Keohane said. Support staff that also received the award were

Devron Bourque, Crystal Lewis and Kim Parson.

Chief’s Citation Awards were presented to the Hopewell Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, Hopewell Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office, Virginia State Police Division 1 for their assistance in Operation Impact, a sweep that netted more than 200 indictments on 64 individuals earlier this year. Also honored was the Hopewell Sheriff’s Office, which assisted police throughout the year.

Meritorious Service Awards related to Operation Impact were given to Tony Chrisley of the Virginia State Police, Richard Cloninger, Michael Langford, Shea Richardson, Harvey Smith of the Virginia State Police, Trevor Terry, Jonathan Totty of the Virginia State Police, Michael Walter of the Virginia State Police and Robert Williams.

A Meritorious Police Duty Award for 20 years of service was given to Paul Intravia.

Police Good Conduct Awards were presented to officers who have gone three years without any type of complaint. They included Amanda Amaral, Lawrence Costello, Heike Polumbo, Anthony Pulley, Shea Richardson and Robert Williams.

Service to Law Enforcement awards were given to John Randolph Medical Center and Neighborhood Watch Coordinator Terry Gilchrist.

Copyright © 2004 - present